Interreligious Dialogue about the Land

Development and Diversity

Enabling Dialogue about the Land

From: ICCJ Anette Adelmann; ICCJ General Secretary | 02.02.2021

On February 21, 6 p.m. UTC the ICCJ is going to hold a webinar on its new book "Enabling Dialogue about the Land". Registration for participants is open!

Themes in Enabling Dialogue about the Land: A Resource Book for Jews and Christians

The editors and three contributors to the new book sponsored by the International Council of Christians and Jews will explore themes about the Land and State of Israel and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict that the volume addresses.

Welcome: Anette Adelmann, ICCJ General Secretary

  • “Living Jewishly in the Land,” Dr. Deborah Weissman, ICCJ, Jerusalem
  • “A Christian Life in a Wounded Land,” Dr. David Neuhaus, S.J., Pontifical Biblical Institute, Jerusalem
  • “Israel in Jewish Theologies,” Rabbi Dr. Ruth Langer, Boston College
  • “Israel in Protestant Theologies,” Rev. Dr. Jesper Svartvik, Boston College
  • “Israel in Catholic Theologies,” Dr. Philip A. Cunningham, Saint Joseph’s University, Philadelphia

Moderator: Dr. Adam Gregerman, Saint Joseph's University, Philadelphia

Join us on Sunday, February 21, 2021, 6 pm UTC [i.e. for example 10 am Los Angeles / 1 pm Philadelphia and Toronto / 3 pm Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro / 7 pm Berlin and Heppenheim / 8 pm Jerusalem, and Monday, Feb 22, 7 am Wellington]

REGISTER HERE [Zoom registration form]

The book has been published by Paulist Press and is available here.

See also the book launch and a video interview of the editors on ICCJ's website here.

2021-02-21-enabling-dialogue-land.jpg

Anette Adelmann; ICCJ General Secretary | 22.12.2020 NOW AVAILABLE! ICCJ-Book: "Enabling Dialogue about the Land: A Resource Book for Jews and Christians", edited by Philip A. Cunningham, Ruth Langer and Jesper Svartvik

Enabling Dialogue About the Land comprises essays from 16 contributing scholars who engaged for several years in the “Promise, Land, and Hope” research project of the International Council for Christians and Jews (ICCJ), headquartered in Heppenheim, Germany.

The team of American, Australian, German, Israeli, Palestinian, and Swedish scholars sought to answer: “What understandings might the project develop that could serve as resources for constructive dialogue about Israeli-Palestinian issues?” This book is the result of their research and field testing of a dialogue process they named “Partners in Hope,” which is meant to resource groups of Christians and Jews who gather for discussion in academic and congregational settings, including the ICCJ’s 38 member groups in 32 countries.

While not intending to “solve” the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, Enabling Dialogue encourages interreligious conversation that moves away from endless disputes over policies toward engaging with differences as a path toward constructive understanding.

[Table of Contents; PDF-file]

The book has been published by Paulist Press and is available here.